Slack
📄

Slack

SLACK” stands for “Searchable Log of All Communication and Knowledge” which is a beautiful way of explaining exactly what Slack does for an organization.

In case you are short on time, read the summary whimsical below & then jump to the Conclusion 🧠

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Introduction to Slack 💻

Slack’s Co-Founder Steward Butterfield had previously sold Flickr to Yahoo for $25M in 2005 within a year of founding the company. Steward had initially set out to build a videogame called “Glitch” which shut down in 2012. Slack emerged from the ashes of Glitch - it was the internal communication tool used by Glitch staff & Glitch users.

Some initial encouragement from friends convinced Steward & team to repurpose the tool for external use - it was launched on Product Hunt & got MAD traction. Slack was acquired in 2021 by Salesforce for $27bn - it had gone public in 2019 via a Direct Listing



Today, Slack positions itself as an all-in-one workplace collaboration tool or “Digital HQ”. It facilitates multi-channel communication (1-1 v/s group comms, Text+ voice + video, in-sync v/s async, live v/s recorded) and knowledge management for teams of all sizes from 2 to 20,000+.

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Slack’s acquisition by Salesforce comes at a time when MS Teams as surpassed Slack’s MAU by almost x10. MS Teams is bundled into the MS Suite offering. Salesforce has similarly bundled Slack into its Customer360 platform and has positioned the same as “Slack First Sales” [2]


About Slack in India 🇮🇳

70% of Indian unicorns use Slack


​ India is 3rd largest market (by FREE users)



India is 3rd largest market (by PAID users)


Set up office in India in 2018. 120 employees.


Per my calculations, Slack should have ~ 100,000 free accounts (i.e. organizations) in India who are using the FREE plan (600K free accounts per above source & India is the 3rd largest market)

Slack’s readiness for ELG (Event Led Growth) 🤔

Slack organized a major “Future of Digital Work” event in April 2022 in Bangalore and Mumbai where their Co-Founder Steward was present.

I distinctly recall being spammed by e-mail campaigns (since I was a paying Slack customer) and paid promotions across newsletters (such as Inc42)

Below is an example e-mail campaign from Slack:


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Litmus Test

Metric

Value

Test 1

Product volume

Bottoms Up i.e. either: (1) PLG (credit card swipe) (2) PLS (Inside Sales on product qualified lead) India has ~20K paid accounts in 5 years of launch

ARPU (for Non-Enterprise in India)

APRU = # of seats x Cost per seat per month * 12 Avg # of seats = 25 Cost per seat per month = $6 APRU = 25 * 6 * 12 = $1800

Test 2

Sales Cycle

(a) 1 week to 3 weeks (Sales) (b) ~3 months (for free to paid conversion)

Test 3

CAC to LTV ratio

​Figures from USA (based on IPO filing [5]) $7,700 CAC $ 99,000 LTV i.e. LTV to CAC is ~ 12 Guesstimate from India $3850 CAC (since Sales Rep cost is lower but Infra cost is same) $ 22,000 LTV (since India seat cost is 2.5x lower than US seat cost plus a x2 churn discount factor) [6] i.e. LTV to CAC is ~ 5.7

Given the above, I think it would be fair to say that Slack can invest in ELG (and, is already in fact investing in ELG in India).





Objective 🌟

In India, Slack has a FREE to PAID conversion problem to solve i.e. it has a large pipeline at the “in consideration” stage which needs to be converted into paying users.


The goal of ELG for Slack in India is to “Establish value (free to paid conversion) & differentiation (versus MS Teams, Hangouts & MS Teams)

Although Slack users are concentrated in metropolitan cities such as Bangalore, Delhi NCR, Mumbai, Hyderabad & Chennai (due to the Tech ecosystem) - it would be advisable to host a virtual event.



The revenue goal would be to generate ~ $250,000 in net new ARR (attributable to this event) over a 12 month window post the event

The Math

  1. Slack has ~100,000 organizations on the FREE plan right now
  2. We would aim to get ~1,000 unique FREE organizations in attendance
    1. Assuming there are 1.25 attendees per organization
    2. Note: We are NOT focusing on our already paying organizations
  1. Assume over a 12 month window post this event, 15% of attendee organizations convert to paid
  2. ~1000 organizations * 15% conversion * 25 seats * $6 per seat per month * 12 months = $270,000 ARR


Slack’s competition in India ⚔️

Based on a few conversations with peers, I was able to establish that Slack has ~ 3 major competitors in India w.r.t workplace collaboration:

  1. WhatsApp
  2. Google Hangouts (part of GSuite / Gmail)
  3. MS Teams (part of Microsoft Suites


Note: In community / hobby / interest based collaboration - Slack does face competition from Discord but that is NOT relevant for the this ELG objective of FREE to PAID conversion since we are focusing on workplace collaboration.

Criteria

Slack

WhatsApp

Google Hangouts

MS Teams

ICPs

Tech Startups Tech Giants Non-Tech Enterprise

MSMEs (Service) Tech Startups Mid Market

Mid MarketNon-Tech EnterpriseMid MarketNon-Tech Enterprise

Distribution?

1. Bottoms up PLG 2. Product Integration - Salesforce Acquisition

1. Bottoms up

1. Bottoms up2. Re-seller driven1. Enterprise Sales2. Re-seller driven

Caveats

FREE with Salesforce Customer 360

FREE & available on everyone’s mobile in India

FREE with GSuite subscriptionsFREE with Microsoft license

Buyer

CIO or CTO

NA - everyone in company

CIO or CTOCIO or CTO

Facilitator

NA

NA

IT / Tech SupportIT / Tech Support

User

Primarily corporate functions such as EPD, Strategy and FP&A.

Everyone (at least in a personal capacity) Popular amongst field Ops teams (e.g. Sales, Ops & Partnerships)

Primarily corporate functions such as EPD, Strategy and FP&A.All users within the Enterprise

Influencer

CEO / CTO / CPO

NA - everyone in the company

NACIO

Blocker

CFO (Chief Financial Officer)

CIO (Chief Information Officer)

CFO (Chief Financial Officer)CFO (Chief Financial Officer)

Key features

1. Multi-threaded conversations within single channel. 2. Multi-media comms possible - text, voice & video including group 3. Integrations with most Tech tools possible.

1. Free & available on everyone’s device 2. Updated “Community” features 3. Multi-media comms possible - text, voice & video including group 4. New edit feature

1. Embedded within Gmail1. Integration with MS SharePoint2. Bundled offering with MS Suite

Key detractors

1. Per seat pricing / few bundled options makes it a hard sell within the Org.

1. PII risk - especially given the Data Privacy Bill 2. Employee wellness - privacy violation by mixing work & personal life.

NANA


Criteria

WhatsApp

Google Hangouts

MS Teams

Slack’s advantage

  1. PII & other sensitive company data is secure
  2. Employee wellbeing - can segregate work
    (Slack) from personal life (WhatsApp)
  3. Conversations can be multi-threaded within a
    given channel
  1. Conversations can be multi-threaded
    within a given channel.
  2. Users can be added & removed from a
    given channel while retaining historic data.
  1. FAR more integrations with 3rd party Tech tools.
  2. Ease of implementation / uptake in
    a smaller organization.

Slack's disadvantage

  1. Whatsapp free to use
  1. Hangouts is FREE to use
  1. MS Teams is bundled for free with MS Suite.
  2. Lack of native call / meeting scheduling

Slack's feature parity

N/A

N/A

1. SharePoint integration
2. Calendar integration


Slack is best suited to {20 to 49 person} companies in {Tech & Tech enabled} sectors who are currently using {GSuite} and NOT {MS Suite}


Ideal Attendee Profile (IAP) 👩🏾‍💼

Broadly, Slack would have ~3 IAPs for this event:


  1. Founder or Owner of ITeS company (e.g. BPO / KPO / agency / services business)
  2. Founder of Tech startup (e.g. BFSI, e-commerce, SaaS etc)
  3. Head of IT / Technology of Mid Market company


EACH of the above IAPs would be affiliated with organizations who meet the following criteria:

  1. Signed up to Slack
  2. Have selected their geography as India during the onboarding
  3. Are on the FREE Slack plan
  4. Have ≥ 5 active Slack MAUs in July 2023 [7]Note: This was a key product activation criteria as defined by Noah Weiss who is the CPO at Slack
    1. I believe a Slack MAU would send more than {X} messages per month (maybe, 50?)
  5. {Optional} - Has ≥ 25 employees registered?Note: I think we can use Apollo.io or any other 3rd party CRM tool to guess this?


Therefore, the IAP would be:

  1. Someone with decision making authority at their organization
  2. Someone who is affiliated with an organization that is a Product Qualified Account (PQA) for Slack
  3. Someone who MIGHT be at the evaluation stage for Slack given its usage within their organization


Suitable Event Topic 📜

Since we would aim to host this event in early September 2023 - a major topic of discussion in India right now is the Personal Data Protection Act (PDPA) 2023 [8] announced in August 2023.


Trends1. Recessionary environment in USA & other western developed markets has cast a shadow of doubt on emerging markets.
2. Business is NOT as easy to come by due to overseas slow down
3. Cost control & loss aversion is the theme. Layoffs MIGHT have happened; business is tight!
Problems1. Need to manage cashflow position carefully - rationalize every cost - cannot be hit by unforeseen expenses.

2. Need to ensure optimal utilization of existing headcount to achieve business targets.
Career→ For Owners / Founders: NA
→ For CIO / CTO: Slightest mistake can cost one’s job & reputation.
SkillsStay on top of the news & latest Tech trends.


"Unlocking Efficiency Amid Change: Prepare for India's new Data Protection Act with insights Industry Leaders from Zomato, Meesho, Razorpay and Khaitan & Co”

IF we pick Unlocking Efficiency Amid Change as the topic then the attendee will review their internal communication tool stack which will result in free to paid conversion (self serve or sales assisted) opportunities for our company.

Shortlisted Speakers 🗣️

Speaker Selection Metric

Vidit Aatrey

Shashank Kumar

Supratim Chakraborty

Deepinder Goyal

Rahul Sharma

Topic chosen forData PrivacySlack @ their companyData PrivacySlack @ their companyData PrivacyData PrivacySlack @ their companyHostingSlack walkthrough
Topic ExpertiseSubject matter expertSubject matter expertSubject matter expertSubject matter expertSubject matter exper
Job Title HierarchyCEO & FounderCEO & FounderHead of Practice CEO & FounderAVP & Head of India
EmployerMeeshoRazorpayKhaitan & Co Legal AssociatesZomatoSlack
Personal Brand300k+ LinkedIn50k+ Twitter100k+ LinkedIn10k+ TwitterNA100k+ LinkedIn200k+ TwitterNA
Ability to speak?YesYesNot sureYesYes

Notes:

  1. Meesho, Razorpay & Zomato are Slack customers [9]
  2. All 3 companies are chosen because the founders:
    1. Operate in businesses (e-commerce, BFSI payments and delivery) where sensitive non-aggregate consumer data is handled
    2. Have achieved a sizeable degree of scale in operations to attract smaller business owners
    3. Have recently announced some variation of profitability amidst the downturn


Outreach Template 📩

The below email template for outreach will be sent by:

  1. The Account Manager for {Razorpay, Meesho or Zomato} to the senior FP&A contact they liaise with
  2. The Head of Slack India directly to the founders (optional)


Note: For Khaitan & Co - a simple email from Head of Slack India suffices


Hi {Billing Contact/ Founder Name},

This is {Account Manager Name / Rahul Sharma}, {Designation} from Slack India

Slack would love to have you be a speaker at our upcoming event Unlocking Efficiency Amid Change. The event will be attended by 1,000+ founders, executives & business owners. The idea is to position you as a thought leader in front of this audience of prospective & existing customers of your business.

The conversation theme is two-fold: creating organizational efficiency in a challenging environment & the new data privacy laws. The virtual event will last for 3 hours on 14th September 2023.

We appreciate your constant support & use of Slack at {company name}. Looking forward to your response.

Best regards,

{Account Manager Name / Rahul Sharma}

Broad Event Structure 🗓️

All time slots are in IST

Start Time

End Time

Topic

Speaker(s)

10:45 AM

11:00 AM

Audience Arrival


11:00 AM

11:10 AM

Welcome from Slack

Rahul Sharma

11:10 AM

11:45 AM

Panel on Unlocking Efficiency - How Indian Unicorns Turned Profitable?

Deepinder Goyal Vidit Aatrey Shashank Kumar

11:45 AM

11:55 AM

Audience QnA


11:55 AM

12:05 PM

Break w/ music


11:10 AM

11:45 AM

Keynote on Data Privacy: How to navigate IDPA 2023?

Supratim C.

12:45 PM

12:55 PM

Audience QnA


12:55 PM

1:10 PM

Real world Slack use-cases at Unicorns

Rahul Sharma

1:10 PM

1:20 PM

Vote of thanks from Slack + Lucky Draw

Rahul Sharma

How to attract IAPs? 👩🏾‍💼

Reason(s) to sign-up

  1. Topic(s) are recent & relevant
    1. Data Privacy is an August 2023 topic
    2. Operational Efficiency & Profitability is a March 2023 topic
  2. Reputed speakers
    1. 3 “profitable” unicorn founders whose companies use Slack - good pull
    2. None of the speakers do extensive interviews so there is some exclusivity


Reason(s) to attend

  1. NO recording OR PPT available
    1. Hearing from India’s TOP authority on data privacy is valuable
    2. Hearing from India’s TOP unicorn founders on achieving profitability is valuable
  2. Wild card(s)
    1. Lucky draw winner gets Slack Pro upgrade for 6 months for free for unlimited seats in their Org
    2. Detailed PDF (downloadable via QR code) containing insights from speakers on topics discussed
    3. Slack Merch for attendees who stay to the end


How to attract this audience?

  1. Slack’s own distribution
    1. E-mail IAPs on their registered email with Slack as per above criteria
    2. LinkedIn post from company handle
    3. Twitter post from company handle
  2. Paid distribution
    1. 3rd party news outlets such as YourStory, ET etc
    2. LinkedIn Paid Ads on users following Slack & Salesforce
  3. Speaker’s own distribution
    1. LinkedIn - personal & company handle
    2. Twitter - personal & company handle

Note: Most of the IAPs would reside on Slack’s existing e-mail list and LinkedIn (where they have 1M followers). On Twitter as well, some of these IAPs would be found (Slack has ~450K followers on Twitter too)


Event Design 👩🏾‍🎨

Here, I will just focus on the Keynote on Data Privacy: How to navigate IDPA 2023? session


Opening act design

  1. Welcome the speaker
  2. Punch lines to drop between Supratim & Rahul S.
    1. “Razorpay was a Day 0 Slack company”
    2. “Privacy violation has become expensive just at a time when cash is hard to come by.”


Middle act design

  1. Key clauses in IDPA 2023
  2. Implications of IPDA on Tech companies
  3. Punch lines to drop between Supratim & Rahul S.
    1. “Worst case scenario fine of UP TO ₹250 crore”
    2. “Time to re-think internal communication & data sharing via WhatsApp”
    3. “Example: Meesho started life on WhatsApp but migrated to Slack!”


Closing act design

  1. Show QR code for insights PDF
  2. Thank the speaker
    1. Highlight Slack’s data privacy & compliance
    2. Read a quote from {any one unicorn founder} on Slack’s compliance features


Leading/ Lagging Indicators ⏲️

Leading indicators

Target Value

Lagging indicators

Target Value

% of invite e-mail opens

40%

% invite :: accepted

0.08%

% e-mail opens :: sign-up

2%

% accepted :: attended

72% i.e. 1000/1350

% paid ads impression :: sign-up

0.01%

% attendees :: sale conversation led paid conversions

10%

# of sign-ups

From e-mail → 800 = 100K * 40% * 2%


5%

From LinkedIn Ads → 550

% attendees :: self-serve led paid conversions


% of pre-event reminder e-mail opens

25%



% of post-event update e-mail opens

10%



Post event sustenance 🔊

Since this is an online event hosted on Zoom (to handle 1,000+ concurrent viewers) - there is HUGE scope for post event promotion in the following format:

  1. Written (long format text)
    1. Blog on Slack website
    2. Co-branded blog on speaker’s own company website
    3. Re-distribution
      1. LinkedIn post
      2. Twitter Thread
      3. Speaker’s own post from event
  2. Visual (long format video)
    1. Video on YouTube channel of Slack (~50K subscribers)
  3. Edutainment (short format video)
    1. Instagram post from Slack (company has ~70K IG followers)
    2. IG post from speaker’s personal profile (where applicable)
    3. YT Short snippets
  4. Paid
    1. Print article in ET
    2. Digital article(s) on startup news websites
  5. CRM
    1. Send thank you email to attendees
    2. Send 1-2 emails (a 1 week frequency) linking back to the above content created
  6. Other nuances
    1. Given the social media reach of these founders - I would create a personalized template containing copy & a creative (showing them in the Zoom Spotlight with audience count visible)
    2. Would ensure that information about event attendance is populated back into Salesforce CRM used by the Account Managers to follow up

Approximate Cost 🏧

Excluding indirect / implied cost of management bandwidth - this event would cost ~ $70,000 for pre & post-event activities

Heading

Sub-Heading

When?

Amount

Rationale

MarketingLinkedIn AdsPre-Event₹1,500,000At ₹2.8 cost per impression (CPI) for LinkedIn ads - we would get 550K impressions. [10]Bear case scenario - 0.01% Impression :: Show-up would give us ~ 550 attendees.
MarketingCRM ActivityPre-Event₹200,000


EntertainmentAudience Merch GiftsPost-Event₹750,000


EntertainmentSpeaker GiftsPost-Event₹200,000


MarketingCRM ActivityPost-Event₹300,000


SalesSales TouchPost-Event₹2,200,000An AE in India at Slack makes ₹22L OTE [11] - assuming they do 20 * 5 = 100 Sales touches per monthI would expect 10% of ~1000 active attendees to watch a Sales touch. The rest 5% conversion from free to paid comes from self-serve.
SalesLucky Draw DiscountPost-Event₹100,000


MarketingContent Re-packagingPost-Event₹500,000


Conclusion 🧠

ELG can be a potentially useful lever for Slack in India. IF we see success in this implementation - it can be scaled up into a full fledged growth channel with a dedicated ELG pod. If Slack would like to provide my company a discount based on this post - I would happily oblige.

















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